Thon, Melanie Rae

Photograph by Marion Ettlinger


Melanie Rae Thon is the author of three novels, Iona Moon, Meteors in August, and Sweet Hearts and three collections of short stories, First, Body, Girls in the Grass, and In this Light. Her fiction has been published in The Best American Short Stories, The Paris Review, and Granta among others. Named one of Granta’s Best Young American Novelists, Thon has received a Whiting Writers’ Award and fellowships from the NEA and Lannan Foundation. She teaches at the University of Utah.


In This Light: New and Selected StoriesGraywolf, 2011 (Fiction)

The Voice in the RiverFiction Collective II, 2011 (Fiction)

Sweet Hearts,
Houghton Mifflin, 2001 (Fiction)

First, Body: Stories,  Houghton Mifflin, 1997 (Fiction)

Iona Moon: A Novel,  Simon & Schuster, 1993 (Fiction)

Represented by Irene Skolnick

Copyright Irene Skolnick Literary Agency 2010